Skip Navigation


The NDIS will fund reasonable and necessary supports. A ‘reasonable’ support is one that is fair and represents good value for money. A ‘necessary’ support is one which you must have to live your life independently.

The NDIS pays for different supports for different people depending on their goals. Two people with similar impairments may have very different NDIS plans because their personal goals may not be the same. Examples of the supports the NDIS will pay for include:

  • Transport
  • Support workers
  • Therapy
  • Aids and equipment
  • Workplace help
  • Home or vehicle modification

Who is eligible for the NDIS?

To be eligible for the NDIS you need to be:

  • Under 65 years of age
  • An Australian citizen
  • Live in a launch site or be in a launch age group
  • Have a permanent impairment and
    • Can’t join in activities or do things without assistive technology, equipment or home modifications or
    • Usually require help from others to join in or do things.

If you are not eligible for the NDIS, you will continue to receive your existing funding.

How do you find out if you are eligible?

The NDIS website’s Access Checker will give you an indication of eligibility.  If you are eligible and currently receive disability services through the Department of Social Services, or are on the Disability Support Register (DSR), your details will be sent to the NDIA when they are ready for your transition. You will be contacted three to six months before transition.

Keep up to date by going to information sessions run by the NDIA, disability agencies, etc.  There will be a lot of support through your local NDIA branch office when your area is due to transition.

If you are not currently receiving any disability services, you can contact the NDIS at any time to apply.

Where is the NDIS?

From July 2016, each state will roll out the NDIS differently. Check the NDIS website to find out when it is coming to your area or age group.